Bangor Water

Article Title: About Us

Article Content

Learn More About Bangor Water

Thank you for your interest in learning more about Bangor Water! Our office is located at 614 State Street in Bangor, and our office hours are 7:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m. Monday – Friday (excluding holidays as listed below)

2019 holidays

  • January 1               Tuesday              New Year’s Day
  • January 21              Monday             Martin Luther King Day
  • February 18            Monday             President’s Day
  • April 15                    Monday             Patriot’s Day
  • May 27                     Monday             Memorial Day
  • July 4                        Thursday          Independence Day
  • September  2           Monday            Labor Day
  • October 14                Monday            Columbus Day
  • November 11            Monday            Veterans’ Day
  • Nov. 28-29               Thurs-Fri          Thanksgiving
  • December 25            Wednesday      Christmas

We are governed by an appointed seven-member Board of Trustees that meets monthly. The meeting minutes are also available to view on our website.

About Bangor Water

History: Established as an independent District (separate from the City of Bangor) in 1957.
Service provided to: Eddington, Bangor, Hampden, Hermon, Orrington, small parts of Clifton and Veazie, and to the Hampden Water District.
Source of water: Floods Pond in Otis
Metered accounts: 10,700
Average daily demand: 4,500,000 gallons
Miles of water mains: 200
Sizes of mains: Two-inch to 30-inch
Fire hydrants: 1,400
Standpipes: Six
Employees: 32 (including 6 operators alternating 24/7 at our treatment plant)
Funding: Water bills (taxes go only to City of Bangor departments)
Fiscal year: Jan. 1 – Dec. 31
Governed by: Seven-member Board of Trustees
Regulated by: Maine Public Utilities Commission, Maine Dept. of Human Services Drinking Water Program, and Maine Dept. of Environmental Protection
Member of: Maine Rural Water Association, Maine Water Utilities Association, New England Water Works Association, American Water Works Association

About Bangor Water Board of Trustees

A seven-member Board of Trustees oversees Bangor Water. The governing board – whose members serve without pay – was established in 1957 when administration of the public water supply was separated from the City of Bangor.

The Board meets monthly on the third Tuesday at 3:45 p.m. in the Hughes Building at 614 State Street. Members set policy, review income and expenses, award contracts, retain an accounting firm for an annual audit, and set water rates with the approval of the Maine Public Utilities Commission.

Board members are appointed by the City Council, serve staggered three-year terms, and are governed by our charter as approved by the Legislature in 1957 and a set of board bylaws.

Our current Board members are:

Ralph Foss                         Term expires 2021

Richard Fournier               Term expires 2020

Laurel Grosjean                 Term expires 2020

Patricia Hamilton              Term expires 2022

Gerry Palmer                     Term expires 2021

Robert Sypitkowski           Term expires 2020

Dan Wellington                 Term expires 2022